Founded in 1970

Our History


Cahawba Christian Academy was incorporated in 1970 as a private Christian school in Bibb County, Alabama. The first year of classes were held in Eoline, Alabama for grades 1st thru 12th. The pre-school was held at the old pastor’s manse of The Brent Presbyterian Church. The first headmaster was Rev. Aubrey Elam.

The school moved into the present location at the start of the 1972 school year. This location was made possible by the generous donation of land by Mr. and Mrs. W.E. Belcher, Jr. The school was a member of the Alabama Private School Association. The school has had several headmasters including Col. Charles Swienny, Rev. Lenard T. VanHorn, Dr. Milton Cucthens, Rev. Mike Lynn, and Ms. Judith Puhr.

After declining enrollment, the school closed grades 1-12 in 1986 and kept the pre-school program open. The pre-school was operated by Mrs. Mary Lynn Davis. The building was rented to the Bibb County School System for a period of two years while the Brent Elementary School building was being renovated. The money received from the rent was used to reopen Pre-K - 6th grade at the old Southern Methodist Church building with Ms. Becky Davis as principal.

89' Year of Renewal

In 1989, the school moved back to the present location and began rebuilding enrollment. The school continued to renovate the building and joined the Alabama Christian Education Association. The Rev. Elam returned as headmaster until Ms. Diane Thompson was named Principal. The school has added a daycare facility by the generous donation of Mr. S.E. Belcher, Jr. and his family. With this expansion the school provided daycare thru 12th grade.

Going Strong in the 21st Century

The turn of the century gave way to an influx of new students and overall growing enrollment. During this time, the school experienced great leadership through many of their athletic programs. In 2016, our CCA Chargers Football team were State Runner-ups at the end of their season.  

In 2006 the Board of Directors voted to join the Alabama Independent School Association and in 2007 voted to hire Dr. Steve Morgan as Principal, Ms. Shelley Jones in 2010, Rev. Tim Bonds in 2013, and Ms. Gail Sammons in 2015.